Share

2022 & 2023 school holidays and Australian public holidays

Our easy guide to the  2022 and 2023 school holidays and Australian public holidays to help you plan your next school holiday adventure.

feature playing mini golf at a reflections holiday parks north haven
Playing mini golf at Reflections holiday Park North haven

NSW 2022 and 2023 school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolWednesday 28 January 2022Friday 27 January 2023 (Eastern) Friday 3 February 2023 (Western)
Autumn holidaysSaturday 9 April – Monday 25 AprilFriday 7 April – Sunday 23 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 2 July – Sunday 17 July Saturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 24 September – Sunday 9 October Saturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October
Summer holidaysWednesday 21 December – Thursday 26 January 2023 ( Eastern division); Wednesday 21 December – Thursday 2 February 2023 (Western division)Wednesday 20 December – Monday 29 January 2024
feeding a giraffe at taronga western plains zoo image dnsw
Feeding a giraffe at Taronga Western Plains Zoo. Image - DNSW

Victoria school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolMonday 31 January 2022Monday 30 January 2023
Autumn holidaysSaturday 9 April – Monday 25 AprilFriday 7 April – Sunday 23 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 25 June – Sunday 10 JulySaturday 24 June – Sunday 9 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 17 September – Sunday 2 OctoberSaturday 16 September – Sunday 1 October
Summer holidaysWednesday 21 December – Sunday 29 January 2023Thursday 21 December – Monday 29 January 2024
a family walking on fairhaven beach along the great ocean rd. image visit victoria
A family walking on Fairhaven Beach along the Great Ocean Rd. Image: Visit Victoria

Queensland school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolMonday 7 February 2022Monday 23 January 2023
Autumn holidaysSaturday 2 April – Monday 18 AprilSaturday 1 April – Sunday 16 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 25 June – Sunday 10 JulySaturday 24 June – Sunday 9 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 17 September – Monday 3 OctoberSaturday 16 September – Monday 2 October
Summer holidaysSaturday 10 December – Sunday 22 Jan 2023Saturday 9 December – Sunday 21 Jan 2024
a humpback whale breaching beside a tourist boat in hervey bay. image tourism and events queensland vince valitutti
A humpback whale breaching beside a tourist boat in Hervey Bay. Image: Tourism and Events Queensland-Vince Valitutti

Western Australia school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolMonday 31 January 2022Wednesday 1 February 2023
Autumn holidaysSaturday 9 April – Monday 25 AprilFriday 7 April – Sunday 23 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 2 July – Sunday 17 JulySaturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 24 September – Sunday 9 OctoberSaturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October
Summer holidaysFriday 16 December – Tuesday 31 January 2023Friday 15 December – Tuesday 30 January 2024
Island Aqua Park in Perth

South Australia school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolMonday 31 January 2022Monday 30 January 2023
Autumn holidaysFriday 15 April – Sunday 1 MaySaturday 15 April – Sunday 30 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 9 July – Sunday 24 JulySaturday 8 July – Sunday 23 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 1 October – Sunday 16 OctoberSaturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October
Summer holidaysSaturday 17 December – Sunday 29 Jan 2023Saturday 16 December – Sunday 28 Jan 2024
strawberry picking at beerenberg farm in the adelaide hills. image south australian tourism commission
Strawberry picking at Beerenberg Farm in the Adelaide Hills. Image: South Australian Tourism Commission

Australian Capital Territory school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolMonday 31 January (new students)
Tuesday 1 February (returning students)
Monday 30 January
Autumn holidaysSaturday 9 April – Monday 25 AprilFriday 7 April – Sunday 23 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 2 July – Sunday 17 JulySaturday 1 July – Sunday 16 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 24 September – Sunday 9 OctoberSaturday 23 September – Sunday 8 October
Summer holidaysSaturday 17 December –Sunday 29 Jan 2023Saturday 16 December – Monday 29 Jan 2024
the pod playground at the national arboretum in canberra. image visitcanberra
The pod playground at the National Arboretum in Canberra. Image: VisitCanberra

Tasmania school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolWednesday 9 February 2022Wednesday 8 February 2023
Autumn holidaysFriday 15 April – Sunday 1 MayThursday 6 April – Tuesday 25 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 9 July – Sunday 24 JulySaturday 8 July – Monday 24 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 1 October – Sunday 16 OctoberSaturday 30 September – Sunday 15 October
Summer holidaysThursday 12 December – Tuesday 7 February 2023Friday 22 December
go kayaking in hobart with roaring 40s

Northern Territory school holidays

 20222023
First day of schoolMonday 31 January 2022Tuesday 31 January 2023
Autumn holidaysSaturday 9 April – Monday 18 AprilFriday 7 April – Sunday 16 April
Winter holidaysSaturday 25 June – Monday 18 JulySaturday 24 June – Monday 17 July
Spring holidaysSaturday 24 September – Sunday 9 OctoberSaturday 23 September – Sunday 6 October
Summer holidaysFriday 16 December – Monday 30 Jan 2023Saturday 16 December – Monday 29 Jan 2024
family fun at mindlil beach sunset markets in darwin. image tourism nt

National public holidays Australia

Holiday20222023
New Year’s DaySaturday, 1 January 2022Sunday, 1 January 2023
New Year’s Day HolidayMonday, 3 January 2022Monday, 2 January 2023
Australia DayWednesday, 26 January 2022Thursday, 26 January 2023
Good FridayFriday, 15 April 2022Friday, 7 April 2023
Easter SaturdaySaturday, 16 April 2022Sunday, 9 April 2023
Easter SundaySunday, 17 April 2022Saturday, 8 April 2023
Easter MondayMonday, 18 April 2022Monday, 10 April 2023
Anzac DayMonday, 25 April 2022Tuesday, 25 April 2023
Queen’s Birthday (excludes WA & QLD)Monday, 13 June 2022Monday, 12 June 2023
Labour DayVaries in each stateMonday, 6 March (WA) Monday, 13 March (VIC) Monday, 1 May (QLD) Monday, 2 October (ACT, NSW & SA)
Christmas DaySunday, 25 December 2022 Monday, 25 December 2023
Boxing DayMonday, 26 December 2022 Tuesday, 26 December 2023
Christmas Day holiday (excludes NT, WA & SA)Tuesday, 27 December 2022

Share

More Stories

25 best things to do with kids in Australia

Free Travel eBook!

Sign up to our newsletter and receive this free travel eBook! The email is filled with great ideas for family holidays, tips from experts, deals and competitions!